www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index
Google
www.EnfoStuff.com
Forum for all North American English and European Ford Owners
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Engine mounting in MK1 Cortina

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 259
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:15 pm    Post subject: Engine mounting in MK1 Cortina Reply with quote

Just about to stick the twin cam into the MK1 and I notice the steering stops don’t line up? When I looked at my other MK2s I see that the centre piece on the cross member with the adjustable bolts on either side is shorter than the one in the Mk1? Anyone able to tell me what the difference is, whether the twin cam will fit in or anything that will help. Thanks guys.


_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sideways



Joined: 03 Oct 2011
Posts: 321
Location: Delta BC Canada

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That shouldn't prevent the engine from being in place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1032
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At first, i thought you may have bent components but after looking at it a bit noticed the traverse bar is switched 180 and the tie rod ends should be mounted from the rear not front.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 259
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ahhh, thanks Pete, I think you’re right. I’ll look into it deeper in the morning, thanks.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 259
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes you were right Pete, a previous owner must have had his Haynes manual upside down......
I’ve run into another issue, engine is in but I can’t get my starter in, I notice that the Mk1 engine mount frame is different to the Mk2 one and also the engine mounts. I have come to the thought that if I can put a Mk2 engine mount frame into the Mk1 I will then have enough room to install my starter. Can anyone tell me if this is feasible or if it will cause me other issues. Thanks all.

_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1032
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will have enough room. Assuming you're using a lucas stater.
Remove the solenoid from the starter ( two 10mm nuts ). Now install the starter and bolt it down. Install the plunger to the fork, install spring and slide in the solenoid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 259
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PM sent Pete
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Brett Wilkie



Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 1280
Location: Vancouver British Columbia Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember on my Mk2 during the many starter re+re I did. I too had to remove the solenoid to get the starter in/out.
_________________
Anglia 100e modified
Prefect 100e stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 259
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I was hoping to use the denzo starter the same as yours Brett but it seems the Mk1 cross member doesn’t allow it, believe me I tried. The plus side is that I think it’ll fit on the MK2 if I ever have to replace the Lucas one on there.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Brett Wilkie



Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 1280
Location: Vancouver British Columbia Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1970 cortina GT wrote:
Yes I was hoping to use the denzo starter the same as yours Brett but it seems the Mk1 cross member doesn’t allow it, believe me I tried. The plus side is that I think it’ll fit on the MK2 if I ever have to replace the Lucas one on there.

The starters I was speaking of in that last post were the Lucas type, maybe they were all on their last legs but I do recall changing them out way more often than the Bosch units on my BMW vehicles.
When I reconstructed the X-member on my 100e Anglia for the flathead/Cross flow swap I made sure there was room to remove the starter without drama.
Regarding the Denzo starter you might want to talk to Dave Bean, there are a number of clock position options on it and one might work???
_________________
Anglia 100e modified
Prefect 100e stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 259
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I tried, literally, every position available, even though about drilling more holes to match my space but the cross member seemed to be in the way every time. It’s all good, I’ll try a Lucas and remove the solenoid as Pete suggested. Thanks.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group