www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index
Google
www.EnfoStuff.com
Forum for all North American English and European Ford Owners
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Cortina MK1 fuel sender.
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1008
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A reading of 20 ohms at the fuel sender should read full on the gauge.
What does the gauge read when you touch the sender wire to ground ?
or what voltage reading do you have at the fuel gauge ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 248
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Pete, so I have 3 volts at the sender, 1.8 volts at the gauge. My son is currently at school and has done a chart, you probably understand it better than me but I’m not sure from the figures what the issue is. Thanks for looking at it.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1008
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MK1 GT '66 voltage stab. output should be a pulsating volts 5 volts
( square wave 0 volts to 5 volts )

First check the 12v input to the volt. stab. output 0-5v. Output wire connects to #1 terminal to the f/gauge. #2 terminal of the fuel gauge goes directly to the sender.

Somehow you are getting a high voltage drop at the sender ??

Your son's ohms law calculations works though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 248
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I’ll check when I’m back home on the weekend, voltage stabilizer is new so I’ll check my connections. Thanks Pete I’ll let you know what I find.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 248
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I get 12 volts to the voltage stabilizer. I get 5 volts out of the voltage stabilizer. I have the sender out and it reads 20 full and 200 empty when I move it manually. I have hooked up my MK2 fuel gauge using the MK1 wiring harness and that reads half full when I manually move the sender arm to simulate a full tank. I know the MK2 gauge works fine. This is baffling me as it is a pretty simple circuit but I can’t figure out what to try next.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1008
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to clarify. Your using a MK1 GT voltage stabilizer with a MK1 C5BH sender unit to a MK2 GT f/gauge. I think you may need a MK1 GT f/gauge, will solve the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 248
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Pete, I’m using a MK1 fuel gauge, a new MK1 voltage stabilizer and a new MK1 20 ohm full, 200 ohm empty fuel sender. I get a reading on the gauge of half tank when it’s actually full, despite a reading of 20 ohms. I get the same, half tank reading when it’s actually full when I try hooking up my MK2 fuel gauge which works fine on my MK2.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1008
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you have some additional resistance in the harness or the wire is not going directly between the f/gauge and sender unit. Take a single separate wire from the f/gauge to the sender.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 248
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I’ll give that a try and let you know, appreciate your advice.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Brett Wilkie



Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 1257
Location: Vancouver British Columbia Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may sound silly and unlikely but is it possible that the tank itself is somehow not grounded fully to the body?
_________________
Anglia 100e modified
Prefect 100e stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1008
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe Lee also grd'd the tank which made no difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 248
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I ran a separate ground from the tank to the battery to be certain. The sender seems to read accurately, the gauge seems to work correctly, the voltage stabilizer seems to work correctly . There really isn’t much else to it but it still isn’t giving an accurate reading . I have the sender out, the gauge out, a gauge out of my MK2 out. Jeez I’m missing something simple here. I tried the sender at the gauge with a short piece of wire and even when I simulate a full tank on the sender it still only reads half a tank on the gauge.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1008
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You haven't mentioned, that the voltage stab has to be grd'd.

It could also be the the pulsating square wave duration is not right. Staying too long on 0 volts and short on 5v. Try a used v/s.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
1970 cortina GT



Joined: 05 Dec 2013
Posts: 248
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I made sure it’s grounded, in fact I added an extra ground to the whole speedo as the ground from the bulb connection didn’t seem too great. I don’t have a spare voltage stabilizer but surely the other gauges would be inacurate if it was faulty. I think I’ll try and run a wire straight from the voltage stabilizer to the gauge, just in case there’s something going on in that part of the loom.
_________________
The wife gets a new freezer, I get 3 Cortinas!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Brett Wilkie



Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 1257
Location: Vancouver British Columbia Canada

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it make a difference if you reveres the polarity of the stabilizer? If you get totally messed up I MIGHT have a Mk1 fuel gauge and stabilizer here if I didn't discard them yet?
_________________
Anglia 100e modified
Prefect 100e stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group