www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index
Google
www.EnfoStuff.com
Forum for all North American English and European Ford Owners
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Mk3 Headlights dont work

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
canadianmk3



Joined: 24 Apr 2012
Posts: 75
Location: Langley, BC Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:00 pm    Post subject: Mk3 Headlights dont work Reply with quote

The headlights dont work on my Mk3 Cortina. I have the dash switch and the colum switch. At the headlight plug I get between 1.5 and 3 Volts. I dont have any other lights hooked up. Anyone know the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 891
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi David,

Welcome to the forum.

You may want to check the lugged ground wires. These are usually attached with a sheet metal screw in the engine dept. Remove the grd wires and wire brush the lug and screw.

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zephyrgary



Joined: 03 Aug 2007
Posts: 759
Location: cave creek,az

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, check the bulbs themselves. Sometimes it is the most obvious answer.
_________________
the older i get,the faster i went...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
enfoprefect



Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 143
Location: Oklahoma

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have less than 3 volts at the headlight plug they will not light regardless of the ground or bulb although those are always the first things to check. Something is seriously amiss upstream from there. First be sure you have a good ground for your voltmeter. Then work back a step at a time from there. Check at the switch, both sides, then the fuses, etc, until you find where the voltage loss occurs.
_________________
Bayless
1948 Prefect E93A
http://sailok.com/enfoprefect
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sky



Joined: 17 Nov 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Albuquerque New Mexico USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A quick cheat is to disconnect the power feed to the switch . Then run a jumper wire from the battery to the switch . If the lights then work , the problem is the power to the switch . That's assuming the battery is fine lol .
Very Happy
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group