www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index
Google
www.EnfoStuff.com
Forum for all North American English and European Ford Owners
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


3rd and 4th Gear won't engage

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Kiwi Cortina



Joined: 20 Dec 2011
Posts: 273
Location: Novato Ca

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 9:46 pm    Post subject: 3rd and 4th Gear won't engage Reply with quote

Took the Cortina for its maiden trip tonight and 3rd and 4th gear won't engage. The shift goes into position as it should but no drive. Any thoughts.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brett Wilkie



Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 1081
Location: Vancouver British Columbia Canada

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe that your Cortina has the later single rail box and I am not that familiar with it as I use the earlier 3 rail version of it which is very similar aside from the shifting mechanism. 3rd and 4rth gear both operate off of the same syncro hub at the front of the box so you will have to open it up to have a look why the hub can't be shifted. I am no expert on the single rail type but I bet something internal has failed in the shift mechanism itself and not the gears, unfortunately you will likely have to remove the box and lift the top cover to see why.



_________________
Anglia 100e modified
Prefect 100e stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 879
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2015 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brent,

Brett gave you some good info on this trans. Problems usually occur at high mileage where the brass forks wear thin and won't engage the sleeve onto the dog teeth or the fork breaks loose from the shifter rod.
I have a few units in parts. Let me know if you should need anything. Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kiwi Cortina



Joined: 20 Dec 2011
Posts: 273
Location: Novato Ca

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info guys. I pulled the gearbox out and took the top plate off and found the roll pin from the selector rod to the fork had sheared off. A lot of work for a 10cent part. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brett Wilkie



Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 1081
Location: Vancouver British Columbia Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kiwi Cortina wrote:
Thanks for the info guys. I pulled the gearbox out and took the top plate off and found the roll pin from the selector rod to the fork had sheared off. A lot of work for a 10cent part. Thanks

But that's a lot better than a lot of work and a lot of money.
_________________
Anglia 100e modified
Prefect 100e stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kiwi Cortina



Joined: 20 Dec 2011
Posts: 273
Location: Novato Ca

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2015 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Agreed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group