www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index
Google
www.EnfoStuff.com
Forum for all North American English and European Ford Owners
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Changing a German Capri from auto to manual trans

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bob_S



Joined: 27 Nov 2009
Posts: 199
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:26 pm    Post subject: Changing a German Capri from auto to manual trans Reply with quote

Does anyone know what it takes to convert a German Capri from an auto trans to manual trans.
Thanks in advance,
Bob
_________________
Bob_S
First car 70 Cortina GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brett Wilkie



Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 1102
Location: Vancouver British Columbia Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I was doing that conversion I would consider finding a cheap donor vehicle for the swap. It wouldn't surprize me to find the axle ratio different as well as the driveshaft not to mention the pedal bits, trans mounts and ???
_________________
Anglia 100e modified
Prefect 100e stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Harrie D



Joined: 25 Dec 2012
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2016 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hum ...
Besides the gearbox .. flywheel , clutch set , gearlever , pedal , maybe propshaft , gearbox bracket , take out starter blocking wiring .
Carb might have other setting but that won't matter . Some other small bits might be different but not always need to be swapped .
Axle ratio can be different but is not always the case .
Done this myself on a European Granada 2.8i and i had to alter the tunnel also for the different gearlever .

Harrie
_________________
Home of the European Ford
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_S



Joined: 27 Nov 2009
Posts: 199
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Everyone. My Big question is to change the pedal box do you have to pull the instrument panel?

Cheers,
_________________
Bob_S
First car 70 Cortina GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brett Wilkie



Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 1102
Location: Vancouver British Columbia Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2016 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't say for the Capri but a lot of automatic vehicles use the same pedal box as their standard models with the clutch pedal missing. Have a very close look under there and see if there is a hole or pivot for a clutch pedal, you might be lucky??
_________________
Anglia 100e modified
Prefect 100e stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Harrie D



Joined: 25 Dec 2012
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bob
Its some time ago but think the box is the same just swap the pedal(s)
You don't need to take the dash out .
_________________
Home of the European Ford
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bob_S



Joined: 27 Nov 2009
Posts: 199
Location: Michigan, USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Brett & Harrie for the info.
Bob
_________________
Bob_S
First car 70 Cortina GT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group