www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index
Google
www.EnfoStuff.com
Forum for all North American English and European Ford Owners
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Fuel Gauge

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Langlia



Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 542
Location: Langley BC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:07 pm    Post subject: Fuel Gauge Reply with quote

Hi guys,

Tried hooked up my fuel gauge today to my 105E

If I put 12v to the back of the gauge it goes all the way up to full when I have the gauge grounded.

With sending wire in place of ground it sits at Empty.

I know it's not full though, new sending wire from float to dash.

Does the float need to be grounded to the body?
Does the tank need to be grounded?
If the tank is grounded is it causing the wire to short?

Thanks for any help.
If I have power and the
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1135
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

12V on one side of the fuel gauge and other side, wire to a wire wound variable resistor ( sender unit ). Resistance range ~ 12-22 ohms ( full ) to
~240-290 ohms ( empty ). Sender unit should be grounded - lugged wire mounted from a sender unit screw to body.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Langlia



Joined: 14 Dec 2015
Posts: 542
Location: Langley BC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fantastic.

Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brett Wilkie



Joined: 16 Sep 2012
Posts: 1384
Location: Vancouver British Columbia Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't remember, does the 105e have a instrument voltage stabilizer like the Cortina had???
_________________
Anglia 100e modified
Prefect 100e stock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteleo



Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 1135
Location: San Mateo,California

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good point, Brett. 10 V voltage stabilizer on the instrument panel for the fuel and temp gauge. So, actually ~10 V on one side of the fuel gauge terminal
instead of 12 V. Either way the gauge operated when touching the wire to the sender unit was grounded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.EnfoStuff.com Forum Index -> Technical Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group